Welcome to France: Musiques, Cultures, 1789-1918

Bienvenue à France: Musiques, Cultures, 1789-1918

‘France: Musiques, Cultures, 1789-1918’ is a project covering all aspects of music in France in the long nineteenth century: music in the theatre, instrumental, military, popular, and sacred music, historiography, pedagogy and theory.  We encourage and promote research of all types in the field: documentary, cultural, biographical, hermeneutic, bibliographical, archival, and analytical. We also develop work at the boundaries of musicology, dance history, theatre, medicine, science, ideas, and jurisprudence.  At the heart of our work lies analysis of the musical press, and the press more broadly conceived, as it relates to music.  In order to link more efficiently with partner organisations, we engage with the ‘long’ nineteenth century from 1789 to 1918.
The project encompasses:

London 2007;         Paris 2008;         Montréal 2009;         Brussels 2010;         Indianapolis 2010;         Paris 2011;         Paris 2012;

Paris 2013;             Paris 2014;         Paris 2015;               Paris 2016;         Paris 2017;         Rochester 2017;         Paris 2018

Boston 2019

The call for papers for our conference in Venice, 11-12 July 2022 is here.

The project is managed by Katharine Ellis (University of Cambridge) and Mark Everist (University of Southampton). Its web presence and databases are hosted by the Department of Music, University of Southampton.
The project was initially set up as 'Francophone Music Criticism, 1789-1914' with the specific aim of exploring the role of music in the French press in the long nineteenth century.  It was funded originally with a two-year network grant from the UK's Arts and Humanities Research Council (2006-08), and managed by the Institute of Musical Research at the School of Advanced Study, the University of London. Grants from the School of Advanced Study  (2006-08 and  2008-09), led to funding from the British Academy, the University of Southampton, and further awards from the Arts and Humanities Research Council.  The network has since gained funding from various sources, for the creation of the web resource.  In 2017, the network agreed to broaden its focus from press criticism to French musical culture more generally.. To see a full list of funders, click here.


To see a full list of members, click here.
Copyright © 2009 Institute of Musical Research | Powered by mSpace2.0